Parliament rejects bill on common courts

The Parliament has voted against the bill on common courts signed by 9 MPs.

The MPs had been discussing the issue in the plenary session format all day long. The bill was brought to vote several minutes ago. It gained support of only 45 MPs, while 17 voted against. The draft law required support of 76 MPs.

The draft law provides for the amendments to the Organic Law on Common Courts that envisages suspension of the appointment of judges for life tenure in the city courts and court of appeals until 31 December 2024.

The legislative initiative is signed by nine Members of the Parliament: Eka Beselia, Gedevan Popkhadze, Levan Gogichaishvili, Otar Chrdileli, Alexandre Erkvania, Zviad Kvachantiradze, Koba Narchemashvili, Davit Chichinadze and Levan Koberidze will sign the legislative initiative.