Lawmakers elect Archil Talakvadze as Parliament’s Chairman

The Parliament of Georgia has elected Archil Talakvadze as a Chairman of Parliament.

94 lawmakers have voted in favor of Talakvadze. Irakli Kobakhidze, who left the post of the Speaker several days ago amid the protest wave in Tbilisi, has also participated in the voting.

Members of the “National Movement” and the “European Georgia” opposition did not attend the sitting.

Matthew Bryza  : That’s a big problem, the US President usually is not listening to his most senior advisers saying “pay attention to Georgia”